quincylampshades

Lampshade making course – Bath and Bristol

Posted on: 22/11/2011

My first ever lampshade-making tutorial went brilliantly well at The Makery in Bath last week. I felt surprisingly confident and well prepared. My nerves hardly surfaced, even when faced with making the biggest, most humungous lampshade ever (more on that another time). Each lovely lady let their style shine through with their choice of fabric and each went home with a beautiful lampshade, lovingly made by their own fair hands. And on time too! Having to explain processes in a clear way was a difficult at times, but once I was able to show the students what I meant the tricky bits were clarified to everyone’s satisfaction. What always surprises me is the ‘ooohs’ and ‘aaaahs’ and ‘isn’t it beautiful’ when a flat piece of material and PVC is rolled into the final drum shape of a lampshade. It’s a transformation that elicits much astonishment, even though it’s an obvious step!

I have three more dates with spaces (Jan, Feb, March) at The Makery.

In contrast to teaching eight people, earlier this week I took a one-to-one tutorial at my home in Bristol with a lady who had travelled from Cornwall to learn all about lampshades. She hopes to expand the upholstery business she works at and offer their Interior Design clients the option to buy bespoke lampshades. She got the very best information – all the bits and bobs that I wasn’t able to convey to a large group.

If you’re interested in one-to-one tuition, please contact me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to "Lampshade making course – Bath and Bristol"

wow – well done you!

[…] you need to make more gorgeous lampshades at home, at very reasonable prices. Or you can always do one-to-one tuition with me at my home near Bristol… Here’s what a recent student of mine said: Thank you […]

Leave a Reply

Welcome! Tell me your thoughts.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

