quincylampshades

Gold Customer Service

Posted on: 17/07/2011

I was kicking myself. I was so cross. I’d sent a 45cm standard lampshade in June Song Tea to Lesley in Richmond, but I’d used a terrible box. Upon opening, Lesley found the shade to be completely crumpled. Oh no! Stupid, silly me. Of course, I offered to replace the shade for like or to issue a refund. After a bit, Lesley actually decided that she loved the shade so much she still wanted it, but she wanted an even bigger one at 50cm! It was a challenge – my biggest shade to date and I was very nervous making it. So nervous that I botched the first attempt. I lost a load of Selopar. Yet, in the process of rectifying my mistake I learnt the best, neatest, most efficient way to successfully navigate that tricky additional seam on the large shades.

Lesley and I had some late-night email exchanges where we worked out a way of getting the shade to her – on her way home to Richmond from Wales, Lesley and her husband took their normal stop at Gordano Motorway Services where I met them for the handover. With a crumpled lampshade sitting on top of their car, I  could not miss them. Lesley was delighted with her new shade and it was a real pleasure for me to meet such lovely customers.

I learnt four valuable lessons:

  1. Don’t take chances with postage
  2. Create seam and fabric length before applying Selopar
  3. Solutions can be found using open and honest communication
  4. Running your own business is nerve-racking!

Yes, I lost some money. But I gained a chunk of confidence. Job done.

Here’s what Lesley said:

Our feet haven’t touched the ground since we got home but have thought once or twice that asap I’d let you know that the shade is a huge success.  When I have a spare moment I’ll take a photo and send it to you.  It’s now the fulfilment of my imagination – I love it!  Thank you so much.

Regards and appreciation

Lesley x

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Welcome! Tell me your thoughts.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 68 other followers

